beauty · films

Beauty and the Beast Review. 

Last night on its first day of release my sister and I went to go watch Disneys live action Beauty and the Beast. It was one of our favourite Disney films growing up alongside Sleeping Beauty and last night just made me feel like a kid again. 
I’m sure a lot of you know exactly what Beauty and the Beast is but I’ll do a brief summary just in case:

Beauty and the Beast is about a young, independent woman called Belle, who is taken prisoner by a Beast in a far away castle. Despite her fears of the Beast from his hostile first impression, she befriends him and his enchanted house staff. She learns to look past his appearance and recognize he is a kind and loving prince deep inside. 

First of all the casting of Emma Watson was a brilliant decision, she portrayed Belles character so well and I can never flaw her acting. Normally when I see Emma Watson in any other film other than Harry Potter, I can only see the image of Hermione, but I didn’t think that once in this film. In fact I think the casting for every single character was well done, with Dan Stevens as the Beast and Luke Evans as Gaston, it was almost like the characters were made especially for these actors to play. Josh Gad, Ewan McgGregor, Ian McKellen, Emma Thompson, Stanley Tucci, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Audra Mcdonald and many others played their characters perfectly, even the extras did a brilliant job.  

The costume and set design was also brilliant, at points I thought I was watching a theatre performance. The castle and the famous yellow dress was both beautiful and grand. The music too was well performed and got me singing along, I still have Be Our Guest in my head now. 

Overall the film all together was done so well, I honestly couldn’t flaw it one single bit. It will make you laugh, cry and so nostalgic. I love how they created extra parts that weren’t in the original cartoon to explain how certain things happened, like what exactly happened to Belles mother. 

Well done Disney, you did so good. 

6 thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast Review. 

Leave a Reply

