Lifestyle

I love being home.

There is just something so comforting and relaxing when you are home surrounded by loved ones. Home is my safe place where I can be myself and be comfortable. It doesn’t matter if you want to have a make-up free day or decide today is the day in which you are going to stay in your dressing gown and slippers. Home is place where you should be able to get away from your problems and worries and just take a deep breath from work and education. Life can be tough, really tough and it benefits to be able to just get away from lifes hardest challenges and go have a bath or have a deep conversation with the parents.

I understand this isn’t the case for a lot of people in the world, and it saddens me to think that a lot of people dream to escape their homes for reasons I will never really understand. I class myself extremely lucky to be able to come home and embrace the tranquility. A place where I know I can laugh and cry around people who genuinely care and who genuinely listen to what is bothering me and not judge it.

I am so grateful that I can call this my home. I just wish I realised this a lot sooner.

I have talked numerous times recently about how I have had time to think about my life and I realised that I have never appreciated home until this moment. I have never appreciated my family or my home until it was time for me to move to Lincoln for three years and live on my own. Don’t get me wrong, living on my own has been a pleasure and I have always craved and loved independence. But living on my own around people who don’t care has made me realise how much I have truly and deeply missed being home.

I miss the countryside. I miss my bed. I miss being able to have a bath. I miss my candles. I miss the quiet. I miss the hugs. I miss the meaningful chats. I miss my dog. I miss my siblings. I miss my parents. I miss home.

4 thoughts on “I love being home.

Leave a Reply

